Participate in the commission process through written submissions.
View | Submit | Search

Consultation Sessions

Let a commissioner know your views by coming to a Consultation Session in Sept-Oct 2006.
View | Register


Learn more about the current electoral boundaries.

Take Our Survey

Our 5-minute survey allows your opinion to be known.

Click here for survey results

Current Electoral District Boundaries

The province of British Columbia is divided into 79 electoral districts, a recommendation of the BC Electoral Boundaries Commission Report of June, 1999 and adopted into law pursuant to the Electoral Districts Act.

A map of the electoral districts is available on the Elections BC website as are individual maps for each electoral district.

When the 79 electoral districts were created, all but six of the 79 districts fell within the plus or minus 25% of the electoral quotient permitted by the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act that provided the legislated framework for the 1999 Commission. The electoral quotient is determined by taking the provincial population and dividing it by the number of electoral districts. The 1999 Commission based its analysis on the 1996 Census which was the last Census data available to the Commission. The electoral quotient based on a 1996 population of 3,724,500 produced a quotient of 47,146. The following map identifies the electoral district areas in 1996 with a deviation less than minus 25% of the electoral quotient.

Six of the electoral districts were established with populations that were less than the minus 25% of the electoral quotient. These districts were located in the northeast and northwest corners of the province. None of the districts at the time of the 1999 Report had populations that were greater than the plus 25% electoral boundaries' limit although one district was within 4% of the limit. The full details on the electoral district populations and variances can be found in Appendix B of the Electoral Boundaries Commission Final Report: Amendments to the December 3, 1998 Report to the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, June 3, 1999.

The population of British Columbia has increased since the 1996 Census. The 2001 Census indicated that the population had increased to 3,907,740, an increase of 5%. However, the population increase has not been distributed evenly across the province and the number of districts with negative variances in excess of minus 25% has increased from 6 to 9 (see 2001 map) and the size of the negative variances in many other electoral districts has increased. One electoral district had a population increase that saw its positive variance exceed the plus 25% upper limit for electoral districts. The Table (pdf): British Columbia Population by Electoral District (May 15, 2001) and the accompanying Chart (pdf) illustrates the changes that have occurred.

BC Stats has prepared a population estimate for 2005 and population projections for 2009 and 2013, the periods for the past and future general elections that are based on Census data. Census data excludes the Census undercount * which is used in many of the population reports typically prepared by BC Stats. The Census data indicate that the number of districts with populations that exceed the plus 25% limit will continue to increase as will the number of districts with a populations less than minus 25% of the average. In 2005, the number of districts with a deviation more than plus 25% was three districts and this grew to five in 2009 and to six in 2013. The number of districts with populations under minus 25% also increased in 2005, 2009 and 2013.

BC Stats was also asked to prepare a longitudinal table and chart for each electoral district of the current 79 using Census data for 1991, 1996 and 2001 and an estimate for 2005 and projections for 2009 and 2013. These charts (accessible via the list of links below) provide a population trend line for each district and its relationship to the plus and minus 25% variance limits. The data indicates which electoral districts are expected to require boundary adjustments if they are to be within the limits established in legislation. Included in the charts is a population density map for the electoral district and surrounding area. This is a good place to see what is happening in your district.

The work of the current commission will be to look at these and other data and bring this information to the website for everyone to see. You are encouraged to visit this site regularly as information is assembled, analyzed and posted.

* Questions regarding the methodologies used to prepare population information for the
commission can be directed to BC Stats.

Abbotsford - Clayburn Maple Ridge - Mission Shuswap
Abbotsford - Mount Lehman Maple Ridge - Pitt Meadows Skeena
Alberni - Qualicum Nanaimo Surrey - Cloverdale
Nanaimo - Parksville Surrey - Green Timbers
Burnaby - Edmonds Nelson - Creston Surrey - Newton
Burnaby North New Westminster Surrey - Panorama Ridge
Burnaby - Willingdon North Coast Surrey - Tynehead
Burquitlam North Island Surrey - Whalley
Cariboo North North Vancouver - Lonsdale Surrey - White Rock
Cariboo South North Vancouver - Seymour Vancouver - Burrard
Chilliwack - Kent Oak Bay - Gordon Head Vancouver - Fairview
Chilliwack - Sumas Okanagan - Vernon Vancouver - Fraserview
Columbia River - Revelstoke Okanagan - Westside Vancouver - Hastings
Comox Valley Peace River North Vancouver - Kensington
Coquitlam - Maillardville Peace River South Vancouver - Kingsway
Cowichan - Ladysmith Penticton - Okanagan Valley Vancouver - Langara
Delta North Port Coquitlam - Burke Mountain Vancouver - Mount Pleasant
Delta South Port Moody - Westwood Vancouver - Point Grey
East Kootenay Powell River - Sunshine Coast Vancouver - Quilchena
Esquimalt - Metchosin Prince George - Mount Robson Victoria - Beacon Hill
Fort Langley - Aldergrove Prince George North Victoria - Hillside
Kamloops Prince George - Omineca West Kootenay - Boundary
Kamloops - North Thompson Richmond Centre West Vancouver - Capilano
Kelowna - Lake Country Richmond East West Vancouver - Garibaldi
Kelowna - Mission Richmond - Steveston Yale - Lillooet
Langley Saanich North and the Islands
Malahat - Juan de Fuca Saanich South